Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador on Wednesday refused to consider Joe Biden as US President, and he is one of the few leaders of major countries yet to congratulate Joe Biden on his presidential election win, saying it was too early and that his country was not a colony.

Lopez Obrador, who accused opponents of electoral fraud in his presidential defeats in 2006 and 2012, says he has no side in the U.S. election, and will stand by until legal challenges launched by the Trump administration over the vote have played out.

We can not make any sort of identification of a government that is not yet legally and legitimately established, he told a news conference. It is not up to us, that is doctrine of intervening.

Lopez Obrador showed no such delay in greeting the victors of Bolivia's divisive 2019 presidential election, which was later nullified over asymmetries. Critics charge his position on Biden does not look impartial.

U.S. President Donald Trump, who has frequently intimidating to hurt Mexico economically if it does not limit illegal emigration, has turned down to accept loss and introduced lawsuits to press claims of election fraud. State officials have said they are not familiar with any remarkable irregularities.

Biden, a Democrat, cleared the gateway of 270 Electoral College votes required to win the presidency on Saturday. While in opposition, Lopez Obrador compared Trump to Nazi tyrant Adolf Hitler and vowed to put him in his place if elected. Since taking office nearly two years ago, he has been at pains to abstain from conflict with the American president.

His attitude on the vote has dismayed some Democrats but Lopez Obrador hold on there would be no backlashes for Mexico. Because we are following our policy of principles, he said. Also, we are not a colony. We are a free, independent, sovereign country. The Mexican government is not a pawn of any foreign government.

Left-leaning Lopez Obrador is among world leaders yet to congratulate Biden, along with Brazil's right-wing President Jair Bolsonaro, Russia's Vladimir Putin and China's Xi Jinping.

Related Blogs